Newest EntryOlder Entries Contact Me Diaryland

"The Pledge"

Today I will do my best to be the best. I will listen. I will be honest. I will respect the rights of others. I can learn. I will learn. What I do today will make a difference.

Take My Surveys

Who are you?
Tell Wendy

My Last 5 Diary Entries

It will be my first time...... - 2005-03-28

"Fun Times on McClellan Street" - 2005-02-23

"Dress Rehearsal" - 2005-02-05

DON'T DO IT!! - 2005-02-02

Here We Go! - 2004-12-31


Sweet Peeps

(In No Particular Order)

Saamba-Two "Cool Cats"
Jackie's Diary - Livinlovin: You gotta read the "Frontman" series.
HRT's Diary - Chaostraffic: My favorite Uncle.
Plop Phizz: Thanks for always stopping by.
MAF: Straight up, the coolest!
Incredipete: He's Back on the Air--YAY!


Designed by: Incredipete

2004-09-25 - 4:44 p.m.

"Firsts"

When you think about it, the number of important �firsts� we have in our lifetime is remarkable. Some of them like our first steps and our first words, we don�t even remember. We know about them because our parents tell us. I know I was walking before I was a year old. And I believe my first word was dada. I would like to take a moment to reflect on a few of the �firsts� that I do remember.

My first day of school. I was scared shitless. I had never been away from home all day and I was only four years old. I remember it though. The school bus wasn�t too bad at first as I had my brother and sister with me because back in the day you didn�t have separate buses for elementary, middle, high school. Well little did I know that when the bus stopped at the elementary school, I would have to change buses to go on to the primary school. My brother and sister left me and I cried and I cried and I cried. It was better when I finally made it to my classroom and got to meet my teacher. Mrs. Johnson was very nice and I quickly became her pet. Yay me!

My first trip to summer camp. This was the greatest. It was a church camp for girls located in the Virginia Mountains. The cabins were so cozy and everyone was nice. All the bitchy girls had to stay at home. We went swimming in a pool that had a diving board and a slide (way different than jumping off the pier into the Chickahominy River), had arts and crafts where I made a lovely church of popsicle sticks, went on nature hikes, cooked on an open fire, ate s�mores, ate s�mores, ate s�mores, got a belly ache, had prayer and slept with all the doors and windows wide slam open.

My first funeral. In a word, heart wrenching. I was about eleven years old. I had never been so sad in my life. I had other people die but if I went to their funerals I don�t remember it. All the kids went to this one. It was so devastating because it was a child�s funeral. William Waltrip, Jr. or to all of us kids, Junior Bill. He was about thirteen and he was my brother�s best friend. We had the best time with him and his sister when our parents would take us to visit at their dairy farm. We would play in the silos, push each other in the manure, help milk the cows and at night hide from our fathers who had been getting drunk all day. Junior Bill would always come up with something fun to do so us kids could try to forget about the meanies in the house. A group of older boys who had been drinking talked him into going with them one night so Juinor Bill jumped in the back of their pick up. They wrecked about a mile away and Junior was the only one that got killed. I remember looking at him in his casket and really understanding what dead meant. I now try to avoid funerals period. I don�t like them.

My first �real� kiss. I was fifteen or sixteen. There was this guy who worked for my Dad taking care of the grounds at the plantation where we lived. He was older, like twenty something, and so so cute. I had a super mad crush on him and all the girls in school were jealous that I got to see him all the time. Haters!! One weekend, I was working with him down at the goat pens and we got a little close and he kissed me. And I about shit a brick! This was my first experience with the tongue action and I ain�t even gonna lie, I was liking it�a lot! After that, we were making out like crazy every chance we got all over that plantation. He took me to my Junior Prom but I think he got a little irritated when I didn�t give it up. I�m sorry, I knew that once he got it that would be it and I liked the making out too much. Hey, that would be my �first� prom. Want to see some pictures? No cracking allowed. It was 1987.

My first �F� in school. Oh wait, that never happened. Sorry!

My first job (not working for or with my Dad). Arby�s. America�s Roast Beef Yes Sir! All in all not a bad place to work. They gave you a discount on your meals and they paid pretty good. Beef �n Cheddars are da bomb. I did hate the effing �lobby check� though. I�m not too much on cleaning up after grown people. Slobs!

These are just a few of my �firsts� through about age eighteen. To talk about all of them throughout my whole life would take forever. Therefore, I will leave you with these for now but I think I will probably visit some from my adult years in a later entry.

I�m movin on��.

20 Whatcha think?

Steppin' Back - Movin' On



read my profile read other diaries recommend my diary