Newest EntryOlder Entries Contact Me Diaryland

"The Pledge"

Today I will do my best to be the best. I will listen. I will be honest. I will respect the rights of others. I can learn. I will learn. What I do today will make a difference.

Take My Surveys

Who are you?
Tell Wendy

My Last 5 Diary Entries

It will be my first time...... - 2005-03-28

"Fun Times on McClellan Street" - 2005-02-23

"Dress Rehearsal" - 2005-02-05

DON'T DO IT!! - 2005-02-02

Here We Go! - 2004-12-31


Sweet Peeps

(In No Particular Order)

Saamba-Two "Cool Cats"
Jackie's Diary - Livinlovin: You gotta read the "Frontman" series.
HRT's Diary - Chaostraffic: My favorite Uncle.
Plop Phizz: Thanks for always stopping by.
MAF: Straight up, the coolest!
Incredipete: He's Back on the Air--YAY!


Designed by: Incredipete

2004-09-11 - 1:52 p.m.

What we all Need

It is my firm opinion that there is one essential thing everyone needs at least once a day. It is nothing extravagant or hard to come by. It is just as easy to get as it is to receive. It is a hug.

Hugs are great, wonderful, and fantastic. It is amazing how a simple embrace from another human being can either enhance or shift whatever emotional state we may find ourselves in. As you know, we, as humans, are complex creatures to say the least. One of the things that separates us from the rest of the beasts of the world is our need to be close to other people and our ability to draw strength from that closeness.

The best thing about a hug is the way it can conform itself to the need at hand. For instance, say you are giddily happy about something. Like if you just got a new car or a new job that you have been wanting on for a long time. When you tell someone else and they congratulate you and give you a hug, that happiness is somehow reinforced and the sharing of it makes you even happier.

Hugs can also turn our emotions in the opposite direction. If you are nervous about some big change in your life, like having a baby, getting married, moving away, etc. and you feel unsure. Go get a hug. It will instantly reassure you that everything is going to be fine and your entire outlook will change.

Getting a hug when you are incredibly sad may either make you feel better or make you cry harder. In these instances, either one is to your benefit. Sometimes we just need someone to hold us close and tight so that we feel safe enough to unload a lot of built up sadness.

Now, the most important thing to remember about hugs is this. You don�t need a special occasion or invitation. Sometimes I hug my friends for no good reason other than I love them and I want them to know they are special to me. I know some people say they don�t like to be hugged or to give hugs. These are the people we need to focus on. They may not think they like it for one reason or another, but believe me, once they have had a few they will love them for the glorious things that they are. If you know anyone like this, hug them and hug them often. If they try to pull away, hug them even tighter. Then one day, you will see them and they will hug you back. It is human nature.

Everyone should now gather round. Closer now. Okay fine. Now, group hug. There wasn�t that nice? Of course it was. I can feel the love and it is too sweet!

I�m movin� on�..

16 Whatcha think?

Steppin' Back - Movin' On



read my profile read other diaries recommend my diary