Newest EntryOlder Entries Contact Me Diaryland

"The Pledge"

Today I will do my best to be the best. I will listen. I will be honest. I will respect the rights of others. I can learn. I will learn. What I do today will make a difference.

Take My Surveys

Who are you?
Tell Wendy

My Last 5 Diary Entries

It will be my first time...... - 2005-03-28

"Fun Times on McClellan Street" - 2005-02-23

"Dress Rehearsal" - 2005-02-05

DON'T DO IT!! - 2005-02-02

Here We Go! - 2004-12-31


Sweet Peeps

(In No Particular Order)

Saamba-Two "Cool Cats"
Jackie's Diary - Livinlovin: You gotta read the "Frontman" series.
HRT's Diary - Chaostraffic: My favorite Uncle.
Plop Phizz: Thanks for always stopping by.
MAF: Straight up, the coolest!
Incredipete: He's Back on the Air--YAY!


Designed by: Incredipete

2004-07-27 - 8:15 p.m.

�What Makes a Person Smart?�

�What Makes a Person Smart?�

I need to know what, exactly, is the criteria upon which intelligence is based. What makes a person smart? I will tell you what I think.

Number one, being smart does not have one iota to do with having a college education. Being the proud owner of a degree, regardless of the type, does not entitle anyone to declare themselves an intellectual.

I don�t just say this because I did not finish college and I am jealous of those who have. I admit that I should have stayed in, but not for the sole purpose of getting smarter. I might have learned more things but I really don�t think it would have made me any smarter than I am or ever was.

Case in point. I have worked with a few people who have a �duh-gree� and I swear to God they were some of the dumbest mo fos I have ever met. It really is beyond me how they ever made it. I mean they were dumb as a brick stupid. It is totally unacceptable for a person with a degree to look at me like a deer caught in headlights when I tell them something as simple as �Staple that photocopy to the original.� Is this a hard or confusing task? The answer is �No!� But still it is like talking to a pile of petrified dinosaur shit all day long.

Number two, having grown up on the streets does not deem anyone smart either. To the contrary, if someone grows up on the streets it is probably because they ran away from home for some bullshit, I can�t have my own stinking way, reason. This in itself qualifies them for induction in the stupmo hall of fame. Street smarts will only help you if you plan to live your entire life as a criminal. And we all know criminals are not smart.

Case in point. There is this story of a woman whose car was stolen. She told the police her cell phone was in the car and gave them the number. They called. Told the crook they were calling in reference to an ad which advertised the car for sale. Thinking this was his golden opportunity, the thief arranged to meet with the cops and when he did they arrested his, not smart, stupid ass.

I think that being smart, truly smart, is something you are born with. Some people are and a lot of other people are not. Smart is knowing how to behave in various situations. Knowing how to communicate in such a way that you are able to get what you want. And knowing when to keep your fat trap shut.

This is just my opinion. It is possible that I could be wrong but not likely. You see I am one of the smart ones. (Thank you God!)

P.S. For those of you who don�t visit as often as you should. Be sure to go back and read my last entry. It was only up for a day and I would hate for anyone to miss out.

17 Whatcha think?

Steppin' Back - Movin' On



read my profile read other diaries recommend my diary