Newest EntryOlder Entries Contact Me Diaryland

"The Pledge"

Today I will do my best to be the best. I will listen. I will be honest. I will respect the rights of others. I can learn. I will learn. What I do today will make a difference.

Take My Surveys

Who are you?
Tell Wendy

My Last 5 Diary Entries

It will be my first time...... - 2005-03-28

"Fun Times on McClellan Street" - 2005-02-23

"Dress Rehearsal" - 2005-02-05

DON'T DO IT!! - 2005-02-02

Here We Go! - 2004-12-31


Sweet Peeps

(In No Particular Order)

Saamba-Two "Cool Cats"
Jackie's Diary - Livinlovin: You gotta read the "Frontman" series.
HRT's Diary - Chaostraffic: My favorite Uncle.
Plop Phizz: Thanks for always stopping by.
MAF: Straight up, the coolest!
Incredipete: He's Back on the Air--YAY!


Designed by: Incredipete

2004-08-03 - 10:20 p.m.

��Tis the Season�

��Tis the Season�

So it begins. The dreaded hurricane season here on the East Coast. For the next couple of months we will have to hunker down and hold our breath as some of the fiercest storms imaginable threaten to make like the Big Bad Wolf and blow our houses down.

The first unwelcome visitor this year, Alex, seems to have ventured back out to sea where it belongs. It was what they call a category 2 hurricane which means you should expect moderate damage to houses. The problem is my definition of moderate and the National Weather Service�s definition probably isn�t the same. To me, one broken window is moderate and shingles being ripped off is knocking on the door of extreme.

Fortunately, I do not live exactly on the coast. However, being 150 miles inland doesn�t grant you immunity from the storm. They can and have moved in causing mad devastation. If you have ever experienced a hurricane, I am sure you will agree that it is no joke.

I take you back to September of last year. Hurricane Isabel, which came close to being a category 5 (the strongest) pounded us with absolutely no mercy. Category 5 means that catastrophic building failures are possible. Well, they say possible, I say probable. It was ugly.

The worst part to me was that it all happened at night. It is quite scary sitting in your house and hearing trees falling, glass breaking, every car alarm going nuts and the most vicious wind you could imagine. You can only anticipate what the damage is going to be. So when morning comes everyone walks around the neighborhood to see what Santa has left. It was unbelievable. I will share with you some pictures I took the day after.

These were all taken in my neighborhood. In a way we were lucky, the damage was much worse elsewhere. I think everyone has pretty much finally got everything fixed so if Murphy is right, we will probably get another one soon���

26 Whatcha think?

Steppin' Back - Movin' On



read my profile read other diaries recommend my diary