Newest EntryOlder Entries Contact Me Diaryland

"The Pledge"

Today I will do my best to be the best. I will listen. I will be honest. I will respect the rights of others. I can learn. I will learn. What I do today will make a difference.

Take My Surveys

Who are you?
Tell Wendy

My Last 5 Diary Entries

It will be my first time...... - 2005-03-28

"Fun Times on McClellan Street" - 2005-02-23

"Dress Rehearsal" - 2005-02-05

DON'T DO IT!! - 2005-02-02

Here We Go! - 2004-12-31


Sweet Peeps

(In No Particular Order)

Saamba-Two "Cool Cats"
Jackie's Diary - Livinlovin: You gotta read the "Frontman" series.
HRT's Diary - Chaostraffic: My favorite Uncle.
Plop Phizz: Thanks for always stopping by.
MAF: Straight up, the coolest!
Incredipete: He's Back on the Air--YAY!


Designed by: Incredipete

2004-07-15 - 8:42 a.m.

"They Just Don't Know"

�They Just Don�t Know�

I have been, for some time, trying to figure out what the deal is with kids these days. I mean aside from the fact that they have way too much and they don�t have that ass whooped nearly enough.

I think you will agree that the root of all kid evil is their lack of appreciation for the world in which they live. They need to realize that the way shit is today ain�t the way shit has always been. For this, I think we need a little help from television.

Now don�t go getting your feathers all ruffled. I am not about to go off about how the shows that are on send the wrong message and what not. (My thought on that subject: If you don�t like what�s on, utilize the off button.) I just think that in addition to all the important shows, (�Fear Factor,� �SouthPark,� �Pimp My Ride,� etc.), it is the responsibility of the networks to have at least one or two wholesome shows that take place back in the day.

You know the ones of which I speak! Don�t you dare sit there and act like you didn�t crave your weekly dose of the Ingalls and Walton families. That�s right. Just what these little ungrateful little shits need. �Little house on the Prairie� and �The Waltons.�

These two are effective because they tell it like it was. And no kid today could handle that kind of life. Let�s start with �Little House� where the word for the day, every day, was work your ass off. And when you are done, work a little more. These people would spend months planting and caring for crops that would get beat the fuck down in the middle of the night by a hailstorm. But did they sit around crying about it or waiting for someone to send them a check every month? Hell no, they would put on their best boots and walk their ass 100 miles away to find a J-O-B. Laziness was not allowed and you best better know that any attempt to defy this creed would result in your little ungrateful tail going to bed without supper. Without supper? You send a kid to bed hungry these days he would have you locked up before sunset the next day. And it wasn�t so bad being poor because everybody was poor. Except for the Olsens of course. But the only thing they had was the old Mercantile, which could not succeed without the poor farmers. A little lesson in economics.

Then there were �The Waltons.� A different, but not necessarily better life than Half-Pint and Mary. These poor folks had to suck it up through the �Great (I never understood why they would call it great) Depression.� Mad props to John Boy and the crew. A time where when it came to shoes in the summer�forget about it. When it came to entertainment�everyone gathered around the radio. Our youngsters should know that there was a time in this country that everything you needed was rationed out. Greed and waste were unthinkable. What they did have though was family and good neighbors. Big effing families and the looney tune Baldwin Sisters who kept people happy by sharing the �recipe.� Kids now-a-days are lucky to have one sibling and are afraid of their neighbors. So sad. So so sad.

I know that for me personally, such shows helped me to see how goddam good I had it and, say it with me class, have some appreciation and respect. Let me add that it won�t like my ass was living on easy street with Beaver (where the hell is he now?) Cleaver either. But that my friends is a whole separate entry that I shall share with you later.

20 Whatcha think?

Steppin' Back - Movin' On



read my profile read other diaries recommend my diary