Newest EntryOlder Entries Contact Me Diaryland

"The Pledge"

Today I will do my best to be the best. I will listen. I will be honest. I will respect the rights of others. I can learn. I will learn. What I do today will make a difference.

Take My Surveys

Who are you?
Tell Wendy

My Last 5 Diary Entries

It will be my first time...... - 2005-03-28

"Fun Times on McClellan Street" - 2005-02-23

"Dress Rehearsal" - 2005-02-05

DON'T DO IT!! - 2005-02-02

Here We Go! - 2004-12-31


Sweet Peeps

(In No Particular Order)

Saamba-Two "Cool Cats"
Jackie's Diary - Livinlovin: You gotta read the "Frontman" series.
HRT's Diary - Chaostraffic: My favorite Uncle.
Plop Phizz: Thanks for always stopping by.
MAF: Straight up, the coolest!
Incredipete: He's Back on the Air--YAY!


Designed by: Incredipete

2004-08-26 - 7:41 p.m.

The Only Man a Girl can Truly Count on is her Daddy

Having said that let me make clear my definition of �Daddy.� A Daddy is a man who puts his daughter (or son, but I will use daughter as I am referring to myself) and everything dear to her first. He takes care of her and supports her every decision simply because he truly loves her. While often times he is, a Daddy is not necessarily a girl�s biological father. This would be the case when it comes to my Daddy.

Let�s just say that my �Father (aka sperm donor)� was not worth a damn. He was a drunk who loved to beat the shit out of my Mom while me and my brothers and sister watched. He did not have a freakin clue what it even remotely meant to be a Daddy. In short, he sucked ass.

I thank God and my Mama every day that he exited when I was seven. Yeah I was a bit hurt at the time but I was a kid and little did I know that I was about to have the best Daddy any girl could ask for, my step dad.

He was probably with my Mom for about six months before I started to consider him my Daddy and have ever since. That other dude became just �Grady (because that was his name)� and quickly faded from my thoughts.

This man loved me to pieces and I could tell. He would take me everywhere with him. Fishing, trapping, flea marketing, to cut wood, to turn the ground for next year�s boxwoods, you name it, wherever he went I went and he taught me so much along the way. And then at the end of the day he would let me crawl up in his lap and he would hold me until I fell asleep. I finally knew what it felt like to be �Daddy�s little girl� and it was so so nice. It was also nice to see someone love my mother and not give her a black eye just for breathing wrong.

The greatest thing about a Daddy�s love is that it never ever goes away. I cannot recall a single time in my life when he was not there for me supporting me whether he thought I was doing the right thing or not. Even hugging me tight as I cried on his shoulder releasing the years of tucked away pain when �Grady� died just last year. And me thinking he might feel betrayed by my emotion for the man that should have been but never was my Dad but instead him calling me early in the morning to tell me �safe trip� as I headed to Tennessee for the funeral.

More recently, during the past few weeks especially, he has moved into the anchor position as usual. Slipping me 50 bucks until payday, checking on me every single day and this night calling to tell me he would have $200.00 more to help me out. My Daddy is not a rich man by any stretch so I know what this handout is really costing him but he delights in helping me. Why? Because he loves me. Hey and what�s not to love right?

Allow me to end by extending mad props to all the Daddies out there. Keep up the good work.

I�m movin� on �..

8 Whatcha think?

Steppin' Back - Movin' On



read my profile read other diaries recommend my diary