Newest EntryOlder Entries Contact Me Diaryland

"The Pledge"

Today I will do my best to be the best. I will listen. I will be honest. I will respect the rights of others. I can learn. I will learn. What I do today will make a difference.

Take My Surveys

Who are you?
Tell Wendy

My Last 5 Diary Entries

It will be my first time...... - 2005-03-28

"Fun Times on McClellan Street" - 2005-02-23

"Dress Rehearsal" - 2005-02-05

DON'T DO IT!! - 2005-02-02

Here We Go! - 2004-12-31


Sweet Peeps

(In No Particular Order)

Saamba-Two "Cool Cats"
Jackie's Diary - Livinlovin: You gotta read the "Frontman" series.
HRT's Diary - Chaostraffic: My favorite Uncle.
Plop Phizz: Thanks for always stopping by.
MAF: Straight up, the coolest!
Incredipete: He's Back on the Air--YAY!


Designed by: Incredipete

2004-08-11 - 6:55 p.m.

That's Strike Three!

I need to vent before I lose my mind! For as much as I ordinarily love them, on this day, I hate, no make that despise, computers! They are a lot of things to me today, but a friend is not one of them.

Call me crazy, but I thought they were here to make my life easier. I guess that is what I get for thinking huh? Well, actually they do make my life easier. WHEN THEY WORK!!! It just seems that as of late every computer in my life (and there are like 3 to be exact) is effed up entirely too much.

Computer number one, my home computer. Let�s call it Mr. Dell. Now Mr. Dell is a beast when it comes to a lot of things. These things would include, video editing, CD and DVD burning and your basic MS Office crap. The one thing it absolutely positively sucks at just happens to be the single most important function---Internet performance. For the time it takes Mr. Dell to connect and then simply open my e-mail, I could have hand written a letter and sent it via the Pony Express. Not to mention �surfing� the web in my house has been more like �crawling.� My life is only so long, but Mr. Dell cares not�(Strike One!)

Computer numero dos, the main work computer. The problem with this one is it is on a lovely thing called a network. A network of about one hundred thousand computers spanning five states. Why is this a bad thing? You know why. Because when something screws up in one place, or a nasty virus sneaks in on just one little old computer, absolute chaos ensues. So now that we all actually need our PCs in order to get our work done, we are sprung! At the mercy of the �master� programmers, we sit and wait, with NO INTERNET or E-MAIL. Life stops and it is a bad, bad thing. (Strike Two)

Last but certainly not least (although I use it the least), the third amigo, my second work computer that I use for one thing and one thing only. So as not to bore anyone with the specifics, let�s just say that basically, it is linked to a special application used to print notices according to data keyed by me. Not too complex, right? Well it shouldn�t be. Hence my surprise and irritation when this morning, after entering crap for about thirty minutes, it failed to print. What? Failed to print? That is the only effing thing it is designed to do. Oh the anger. (10, 9, 8, 7, 6, �breathe) I tried the normal things, reboot, make sure printer is online, reboot, reboot AGAIN�. The problem you ask? Some less than intelligent individual, let�s call him a moron, came down last night and took a cable that was plugged in nearby. Of course, it would have been too much trouble to move the desk, so said moron decided yanking the damned thing free would be easier. That would have been fine with me except when he yankity yank yank yanked it, he managed to loosen my printer cable. Thanks A-hole. It is now fixed but my blood pressure is still up. Hope I don�t see him again�.ever!

In case you haven�t been keeping up, that is three strikes by my count. And we all know what that means�� I guess it cant get any worse though. Can it??

23 Whatcha think?

Steppin' Back - Movin' On



read my profile read other diaries recommend my diary