Newest EntryOlder Entries Contact Me Diaryland

"The Pledge"

Today I will do my best to be the best. I will listen. I will be honest. I will respect the rights of others. I can learn. I will learn. What I do today will make a difference.

Take My Surveys

Who are you?
Tell Wendy

My Last 5 Diary Entries

It will be my first time...... - 2005-03-28

"Fun Times on McClellan Street" - 2005-02-23

"Dress Rehearsal" - 2005-02-05

DON'T DO IT!! - 2005-02-02

Here We Go! - 2004-12-31


Sweet Peeps

(In No Particular Order)

Saamba-Two "Cool Cats"
Jackie's Diary - Livinlovin: You gotta read the "Frontman" series.
HRT's Diary - Chaostraffic: My favorite Uncle.
Plop Phizz: Thanks for always stopping by.
MAF: Straight up, the coolest!
Incredipete: He's Back on the Air--YAY!


Designed by: Incredipete

2004-08-10 - 7:25 p.m.

I Need an Explanation

As some of you may already know, there is one subject that I don�t like too much. Well actually I hate it. That subject is economics. The God�s honest truth as to why I hate it is that as smart as I am, and I am plenty smart mind you, I just don�t fucking get it!

I believe in making a profit. That is how people get rich. What pisses me off is how things are priced so that the profit is like three times what it cost to produce them. This is wrong.

Would you like an example? Of course you would. Okay, I went shopping last night. Got to get some new gear for the new jizob. So I go in the store and of course I make a bee line for the clearance racks. They are my friends. I left the store with a new pair of pants and a top that cost a total of $20.38.

The original price on the pants was $34.00 and the top was $32.00. These are not astronomical prices but more than this poor girl can afford to spend and still pay the mortgage. The pants were marked down to $8.50 and the top $11.00. This is what I don�t get.

I feel like if they could ultimately sell this stuff at 75% off then that is all it was ever worth. How dare they! My logic is this: If they sell it for the cheaper price, then I can buy more and the store still makes their money.

Let me point out that I was not at the Wal-Mart either. (Sorry Mr. Walton I will be back on grocery day.) I was actually at a very nice department store in a very hype new open air mall (in the west end no less). It was Dillard�s! Dillard�s for Christ sake! I purchased a whole outfit for a little more than twenty bucks at the same store that was selling $300.00 tank tops.

I know that this scenario does not demonstrate the whole world of economics. It is just a point that somebody better clarify for me before I get real pissed off and start buying everything on line directly from Mexico.

Thank you for your time.

12 Whatcha think?

Steppin' Back - Movin' On



read my profile read other diaries recommend my diary