Newest EntryOlder Entries Contact Me Diaryland

"The Pledge"

Today I will do my best to be the best. I will listen. I will be honest. I will respect the rights of others. I can learn. I will learn. What I do today will make a difference.

Take My Surveys

Who are you?
Tell Wendy

My Last 5 Diary Entries

It will be my first time...... - 2005-03-28

"Fun Times on McClellan Street" - 2005-02-23

"Dress Rehearsal" - 2005-02-05

DON'T DO IT!! - 2005-02-02

Here We Go! - 2004-12-31


Sweet Peeps

(In No Particular Order)

Saamba-Two "Cool Cats"
Jackie's Diary - Livinlovin: You gotta read the "Frontman" series.
HRT's Diary - Chaostraffic: My favorite Uncle.
Plop Phizz: Thanks for always stopping by.
MAF: Straight up, the coolest!
Incredipete: He's Back on the Air--YAY!


Designed by: Incredipete

2004-09-08 - 10:23 p.m.

Family Reunion

This coming weekend is my family reunion. This would be the family on my natural father�s side. The Tennessee brood.

By brood, I mean the largest assembly of hillbillies you ever wandered upon. My father had five sisters and three brothers. All of whom got married and collectively spawned 24 children. These children have now had children and even a few of them have had children. This makes for a lot of people who require a lot of food. Good food.

Family reunion food is the best. You�ve got side dishes galore that include but are in no way limited to potato salad, snaps �n taters, macaroni and cheese, pork �n beans, has brown casserole, and corn on the cob. All of which are home made. No stops by the local grocery store deli here folks. And you can bet your sweet ass that pretty near everything was grown right in someone�s garden at home. Then you�ve got the main dish. A freshly butchered hawg or a whole side of beef that has been cookin� ever since the sun come up on Uncle Bull�s gigantic barbeque he drug all the way there from Bull�s Gap. This is guaranteed to make you slap your mammy. All of this is topped off with the best county fair blue ribbon prize winning desserts you have ever had the joy of tasting. Believe me, it is all good.

The gathering is always held in a park deep in the mountains. There is creek running through it and all of the kids have a ball trying to catch crawdads. We all used to do this when we were kids. It was too fun. And as usual it is always a race to see who can catch the first crawdad. This is a most prestigious title that one will bear for a whole year. The water is so fresh and cool even the adults can�t resist kicking off their shoes and turning a rock or two in search of them. Here are a few pictures of the young uns at last year�s reunion.

This is Jamie. She was the first to capture the elusive crawdad and displays her catch proudly.

I do love the family reunion. This is the only time I get to see a lot of my family and they are great peeps. One thing about hillbillies they gots mad love for their family and always always give it unconditionally. Unfortunately, I will not be able to attend this year due to finances and such. I will miss it. Maybe next year.

I�m movin� on��

25 Whatcha think?

Steppin' Back - Movin' On



read my profile read other diaries recommend my diary